What’s On: Festivals this October 2019 on the Island of Ireland

Festivals this October on the Island of Ireland

We’ve had our Indian Summer red skied nights, and that ‘grand stretch in the evening’ is no more. October brings with it garden lawns laced with frost, and doorways dusted with fallen leaves. That familiar wood and turf burning scent that fills the chilled air tells us the fires are lit. It’s time to get cosy and get that geansaí ready.

This month’s poem is ‘October’ by Irish poet Harry Clifton. Enjoy.

What’s On - Festivals this October 2019 on the Island of Ireland - October by Harry Clifton

The island of Ireland is not hibernating, it’s still awake and full of energy this October 2019 with festivals to tickle every fancy. Take inspiration from this guide to get out and experience places you’ve never been, or revisit the ones you love. And remember to keep an eye out for the many ‘Taste the Island’ across the island.

Top Festival Picks in Leinster this October 2019

What’s On - Festivals this October 2019 on the Island of Ireland - pumpkin

Leinster: Carlow, Dublin, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Longford, Louth, Meath, Offaly, Westmeath, Wexford and Wicklow.

What’s On – Things to Do in Dublin | October 2019 | Full Listing here

Kilkenny Animated | Kilkenny | Oct 4th – Oct 6th | kilkennyanimated.com

Abbeyleix Apple Fest | Abbeyleix, Laois | October 6th | facebook.com/applefest.abbeyleix

Eugene O’Neill Theatre Festival | New Ross, Wexford | Oct 9th- 13th | eugeneoneillfestival

Offline Film Festival | Birr, Offaly | Oct 9th – Oct 13th | offlinefilmfestival.com

The Big Chisellers Festival | Enniskerry, Wicklow | Oct 11th – 13th | schoolhouseforart

Wexford Spiegeltent Festival | Wexford Town | Oct 8th – Oct 28th | wexfordspiegeltent

Wilderland Film Festival | Bray, Wicklow | October 16th | mermaidartscentre.ie

Savour Kilkenny Food Festival | Kilkenny | Oct 22nd – Oct 28th | savourkilkenny.com

Puca Festival | Athyboy, Trim, Drogheda | Oct 31st – Nov 2nd | pucafestival.com

Top Festival Picks in Munster this October 2019

What’s On - Festivals this October 2019 on the Island of Ireland - sparkler

Munster: Clare, Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary, Waterford.

Small Roads Theatre Festival | Kenmare, Kerry | Sept 26th – Oct 14th | smallroads.com

Dromineer Nenagh Literary Festival | Nenagh, Tipperary | Oct 1st – Oct 6th | dnlf.ie

Cork Folk Festival | Cork City | Oct 3rd – Oct 6th | corkfolkfestival.com

Open House Cork | Cork City | Oct 4th – Oct 6th | openhousecork.ie

Indie Cork Film & Music Festival | Cork City | Oct 6th – Oct 13th | indiecork.com

Kinsale Gourmet Festival | Kinsale, Cork | Oct 11th – Oct 13th | kinsalerestaurants

Viva la Vida Festival | Limerick City | Oct 25th – Oct 26th | facebook.com/vlvfestival

Spleodar Halloween Arts Festival | Nenagh, Tipperary | Oct 26th – Oct 31st | spleodar.ie

Féile an tSolais ‘Festival of Light’ | Listowel, Kerry | Oct 31st – Nov 2nd | feileantsolais.com

Top Festival Picks in Connacht this October 2019

What’s On - Festivals this October 2019 on the Island of Ireland - Children

Connacht: Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo.

Ballinasloe Fair & Festival | Galway | Sept 29th – Oct 6th | ballinasloeoctoberfair

Ballina Fringe Festival | Ballina, Mayo | Oct 4th – Oct 20th | ballinafringefestival.ie

Baboró International Arts Festival for Children | Galway | Oct 14th – Oct 20th | baboro

Westival Music & Arts Festival | Westport, Mayo | Oct 23rd – Oct 28th | westival.ie

Achill International Harp Festival | Achill, Mayo | Oct 25th – Oct 28th | achillharpfestival

Top Festival Picks in Ulster incl. Northern Ireland this October

What’s On - Festivals this October 2019 on the Island of Ireland - Oktoberfest

Ulster (including Northern Ireland): Antrim, Cavan, Donegal, Down, Armagh, Derry, Fermanagh, Monaghan and Tyrone.

Walled City 400 | Derry / Londonderry | Mar 19 – Mar 2020 | walledcity400.com

Oktoberfest Belfast | Belfast City | Oct 4th – Oct 19th | oktoberfestbelfast.com

Slow Food Festival | Derry / Londonderry | Oct 9th – Oct 13th | derrystrabane.com

Belfast International Arts Festival | Belfast City | Oct 15th – Nov 3rd | belfastinternational

Derry Halloween | Derry / Londonderry | Oct 26th – Nov 1st | derryhalloween.com

*****

PIN IT:

What’s On - Festivals this October 2019 on the Island of Ireland

*****

You can find The Life of Stuff on FacebookTwitter and Instagram 

Follow her

Edwina O'Connor

Edwina is the Creator and Chief Editor of The Life of Stuff.

She's a mother, wife, dog and home owner - a travel writing, creative, design and imagery driven, art and music lovin', sustainable living, coffee (and sometimes whiskey) drinking Irish woman.
Edwina O'Connor
Follow her
No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.